Dramaturgy Chat

One of the many layers of my research is finding the right language to describe my practice as a director/researcher, which has been an issue since my undergraduate. I think that partially this is because I am not a director in the traditional British sense, or as I have recently put to a couple of actors I worked with, I’m not a director with a vision. I see myself more as a facilitator-translator-dramaturg type of director. My job is to help unlock the creativity of the actors (and the playwright, if I’m working with one). I will write more about this in the future, but for now, you can read more about where dramaturgy stands in my work in this interview I did for Andy Edwards a few weeks ago, featured on Magda Romanska’s Theatre Times . Do check Andy’s blog on dramaturgy for really insightful chats with other artists as well!

Leave a Reply

